The Whitewater Grocery Co. currently has six committees. Anyone may join! You don't need to be an Owner or a Board member to help out! 


Board Development

The purpose of the Board Development Committee is to maintain and increase board literacy, develop and implement a board succession and onboarding plan, and oversee the annual election cycle. It meets as needed. Chair: Zachary Popke

Capital Campaign 

The purpose of the Capital Campaign Committee is to research, plan, and execute a successful Capital Campaign. Chair: Ron Binning, Board Member. Committee: Steve Michaelson and Destine Bauschke

Finance & Legal

The purpose of the Finance & Legal Committee is to research and advise the board in key financial and legal matters and decisions, in accordance with the bylaws, articles of incorporation, State and Federal laws, and generally accepted accounting practices. It meets as needed. Chair: Zachary Popke, Board Member Committee: Patrick Taylor, Jennifer Crone, Destine Bauschke, and Zachary Popke. 


The purpose of the Grants Committee is to secure grants to fund start-up and opening of the Whitewater Grocery Co. Chair: Brienne Diebolt-Brown, Board Member.

Ownership & Outreach

The purpose of the Ownership & Outreach Committee is to lead the effort to educate the community about our values and promote ownership through a variety of materials and activities. It meets bi-weekly virtually via the GroCo Zoom account. Chair: Jenna Karsten Committee Rockstars: Vicki Hagstotz (Vice-Chair), Nadia Bidwell (Secretary), Ron Binning (Business Outreach), Maggie Rice (Volunteer Coordinator), and Jim Nies. 


Site Buildout

The purpose of the Site Buildout Committee is to research and provide technical expertise related to the buildout of a site for Whitewater Grocery Co., and to make recommendations to the Whitewater Grocery Co. Board of Directors. The ultimate product of the committee will be a series of recommendations to the Board based on questions that arise in the planning and pre-construction stages of selecting and building out a site. The committee will meet at least once monthly with the chair being ultimately responsible for scheduling the meetings and reporting to the Board of Directors. Chair: Kathleen Fleming, Board Member. Committee Rockstars: Denise Roseland, Gayle Stettler, Jo Baker, and Michael Marr.